Food and Libations · Recipes · Side Dishes · Uncategorized

Cheesy and Creamy Baked Mashed Potato Pots

Let me start by saying that this dish is super yummy and comforting. I give you this as a preface so you hold on until I am finished telling this tale of when things go wrong in the kitchen (if you’d rather skip the story, I won’t be offended, just head to the end of the post and you’ll find the printable recipe. BUT, I’m pretty sure you want to hear how I get my hand caught In a hand mixer.)

First, here’s a picture of what your reward will be for reading my “kitchen muse takes the day off tale.”

20120929-191005.jpg
The night began as any other and I was working on a new recipe of a pumpkin beer braised chicken. Yay! It still sounds great… Sadly, instead of making a festive fall flavored pan sauce, I made a completely indelible chicken dish. I mean gross. Like bad. Think brewers yeast poured over chicken. Blech. Eew.

20121003-082918.jpg
Anywhoo…
I had to save the chicken so I did the only thing I could. I threw out the nasty creation and whipped up a quick BBQ sauce. Why? Because BBQ sauce fixes everything. I finished braising the chicken in BBQ yumminess and it was saved. Now,onto how I almost ripped my arm off making these mashed potatoes…

I usually use a manual potato masher when I make mashed potatoes because I like a little bit of texture, but for these taters I wanted them whipped into creamy submission. A funny thing happened as I was attaching the mixing arms (arms? legs?) to the hand mixer base- I hit the on switch…with my hand caught in between the beaters (beaters! that’s what they’re called.) Thankfully, no serious injuries occurred, but I took that as my final hint to finish what I was doing and get the heck out of the kitchen for the night.

In the end, the inedible chicken was saved by the magic of BBQ sauce, and I made these creamy, cheesy, potatoes from heaven. All was right with the world. Now, without further adieu, the recipe.

You will need:
2Lbs yukon gold potatoes
2 TBSP butter
1/2 C milk
4 oz cream cheese
1 C shredded Cheddar cheese
salt and pepper

Crumb topping:
1/2C panko breadcrumbs
1/4C grated parmesan cheese
1 TSP Italian seasoning
2TSP olive oil

pre-heat oven to 350.

First, quarter your potatoes and place them in a pot of heavily salted water. Bring to a boil and cook until tender. Drain and set aside. In the pot you cooked the potatoes in melt the butter.

20121003-083841.jpg

Add the potatoes back to the pot. Sprinkle generously with salt and about 1/2 tsp of black pepper

20121003-083949.jpg

Add in the milk and beat until creamy with an electric hand mixer

20121003-084032.jpg

Now, add in the cream cheese, stir to combine. Fold in the cheddar.

20121003-084147.jpg

Spoon potatoes into 4 medium sized ramekins (you can also do this in one large baking dish if you prefer)

20121003-084235.jpg

Mix the crumb topping ingredients

20121003-084406.jpg

Sprinkle topping on top of your potato pots and bake at 350, for about 20 minutes, or until the top is golden.

20121003-084513.jpg
mmmmmmm. Is there anything better than the combination of creamy, cheesy, and crispy?

Bon Apetit! And remember, sometimes the kitchen muse takes the day off. And sometimes this is when the most delicious accidents happen. But, if absolutely nothing ends up being edible, there’s always the wine.

Get the Printable version of this recipe HERE

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

