baking

The Kitchen Miracle: A Non-Baker Bakes Blueberry Cream Muffins

Let me start by explaining to you that I DO NOT BAKE.  How bad am I at baking? Bad. Like, real bad. So bad, that for my son’s first birthday party in August my dearest friend had to drive 2 1/2 hours to my house to make the cupcakes and baked goods for his party. There are several reasons that I think I have such an aversion to baking:

1.I hate math. Baking feels like math. You can’t play jazz with it.

2.I am kind of a neat freak. When I bake flour gets everywhere. Hate it.

3. I suck at it. A lot. I have thrown more batches of things away than I have eaten.

So why is this post called The Kitchen Miracle?  Well, I’ll tell you. It’s because I made these beauties

Yes! I MADE these! For most, especially the amazing bakers out there, this is no fancy feat. But for me, a self-declared failed baker, these super moist inside-crunchy on top -blueberry cream muffins were a triumph. You might wonder why I insist upon trying to bake when I clearly don’t have a knack for it. Well, I’ll tell you that too.

First, good luck to anyone who tells me I can’t do something (that includes when I tell myself.) Second, my son inspires me to keep trying to do new things, in many ways, but with baking specifically, I had to figure out something that I could bake so that when he woke up in the morning he would be able to smell something delicious baking in the oven. I wanted him to have that as a childhood memory. Yes, it’s sappy. You know what’s not sappy though? These muffins! Here we go:

2C all-purpose flour

1C sugar

1/2tsp baking powder

1/2tsp baking soda

1/2tsp salt

1 1/2C fresh or frozen blueberries (if using frozen do not thaw first)

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1C sour cream

1/2C vegetable oil

1/2tsp vanilla extract

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients. Fold in the blueberries and toss gently. In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients, mixing well. Add wet to dry, combine until just moistened. Fill greased muffin cups (or use papers) 2/3 full and bake at 400 for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean. Cool five minutes, serve warm.

So, that’s it folks. These muffins were delicous. I urge anyone to try them, especial those of us who are baking -challenged.

*I did not write this recipe (I only baked it), which is obvious if you read this post. It is from the lovely Linda Gilmore from Maryland who shared this recipe in the Taste of Home Cookbook.

 

17 thoughts on “The Kitchen Miracle: A Non-Baker Bakes Blueberry Cream Muffins

  1. I’m with you – I’m not much of a baker (like at all) so on the rare occasions where I have a baked good turn out well it’s a cause for celebration. Thanks for the delish looking recipe – definitely giving these a shot!

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

