Monday Coffee Break

Monday Coffee Break: The Best of the Weekend

Welcome to the first Monday coffee break at Like This, Try That. During Monday Coffee Break I’ll be sharing foodie inspirations from the weekend, as well as what I’m thinking about making in the upcoming week. I’d love for you to share what inspired you as well! Now, without further adieu…

As some of you may have read, I baked my first batch of edible muffins this weekend. Really, I made my first edible batch of anything baked, you can read more about this Kitchen Miracle Here. Because of this small victory I was inspired this weekend to find some tasty sweets to try my hand at.

Like these Lemon, Thyme Olive Oil Cookies by Une Gamine

This Spiced Apple Caramel Sauce by Tartletsweets looks amazing

And I can’t stop thinking about this White Chocolate ice cream with spiced pumpkin swirl from Erin’s Food Files

And in keeping with my latest muffin success, I want to try my hand at these Pumpkin crumb muffins with cream cheese glaze from Every Craving

So, that’s it for this weeks sweet finds. I think I’m going to start with an attempt at pumpkin muffins to start. And Thursday I’ll be sticking to what I do best, the savory stuff, and sharing a recipe for Rasberry and Wine chicken, yum.

What did you find or try this weekend? I’d love to hear from you. Throw up your inspiration in a post comment below!

10 thoughts on “Monday Coffee Break: The Best of the Weekend

  1. Yum, yum, and yum! This is awesome, Rebekah — great post idea! And BTW, really like both your blogs — just lovely!

    My weekend inspiration (even though we’re pretty much more than halfway to the the next one) was this warm cranberry apple punch with all these whole spices in it.

    I was looking for inspiration for my upcoming Halloween post next week and just in the mood to find something different. Discovery: there are a lot of folks going Halloween cuckoo out there, lol!

    Was wondering, have you come across anything Halloween-interesting and, well, different, recipe idea-wise? Something that could be totally appropriate for Halloween, but really, great anytime this season?

    Easy and unusual would be ideal …

    1. Thank you so much! That punch sounds amazing. I have seen some pretty interesting Halloween goodies on Foodgawker and tasteologie. Mostly sweet stuff though. I haven’t really seen any Halloween-specific savory.

      This blog, Whipped, has a super cute selection of Monster Cupcakes: http://whippedbaking.com/2012/10/23/monster-cupcakes/

      These Pumpkin Chocolate cheesecake bars look amazing, http://www.handletheheat.com/2012/10/pumpkin-chocolate-cheesecake-bars.html

      And these Pumpkin Almond Cookies also look super cute, http://cookingontheweekends.com/2012/10/pumpkin-almond-cookies-for-halloween-and-thanksgiving/

      Let me know if you try any of these!

  2. Thanks you so much for wanting to link to my post, Rebekah, that’s so incredibly lovely of you!

    I will be posting my Halloween post next Wednesday (I post every Wed), but there is a very likely possibility that it won’t be pumpkin-related, as I posted “pumpkin” just this week and don’t want to repeat myself (at least not so soon!).

    That said, if you’d like, please feel free to link to this week’s post — it’s Pumpkin Pancakes with Spiced Maple Walnut Brown Butter — totally 100% pumpkin, Halloween-y, and would be perfect for your next Monday Coffee Break pumpkin-planned “theme”.

    Lemme know, and either way, thank you again for wanting to link! Your loveliness is so very appreciated.

    =)

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

