Side Dishes · Uncategorized

Po-ta-toe, Po-tat-o: Parsley & Cream Mashed

ImageI don’t know if there has ever been a day when someone has asked me if I was in the mood for mashed potatoes and I said no. I could eat them every day. And because of this, I often come up with different ways to make them.

Some times I add cheese, sometimes I add sour cream. Some times I add herbs, sometimes I add horseradish.  Sometimes I rhyme slow, sometimes I rhyme fast. (please excuse the early 90’s hip-hop reference) All times I add butter. All times.

These particular mashed ‘taters are a marriage of butter, cream cheese, parsley, and a hint of garlic. The result is a super creamy, yet herb-fresh, side of mashed potatoes. Here’s what you’ll need:

4 medium -large yukon Gold potatoes, quartered, boiled and drained

2 TBSP Butter

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1/4 C milk

1/4 C Cream Cheese

1/3 C finely chopped fresh parsley

Kosher salt & black pepper

Boil potatoes in salted water (it should taste like sea water) until fork tender, drain. while potatoes are in colander draining, melt butter in pot (leave your burner just on low while finishing the potatoes) . And add in the minced garlic an let it cook for about 1 minute from the heat of the pot. Add potatoes back into pan and mash with 1/4 C milk and a potato masher (or a hand mixer if you prefer them whipped). Stir in 1/4 C of cream cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the parsley.

And that’s all she wrote. When not literally, because I’m going to write a few more things. These potatoes really delivered on feeling like a little something special. The creamy texture, the tang of the cream cheese, and the brightness of the parsley really make them an ask-for-seconds kind of dish.

Stop by on Monday for Monday Coffee Break where we’ll feature the best food finds from the weekend. Want a little hint at the contents?  You may want some of these finds for your holiday celebrations. And on Thursday I’ll be sharing my recipe of the week, what will it be?! Oh, the anticipation!

Bon Appetit!

                                                                                

We’re sharing food love over at…

 

2 thoughts on “Po-ta-toe, Po-tat-o: Parsley & Cream Mashed

  1. Oh, Rebekah, your post got me so hungry! Doesn’t help that I have the hangries, or the gilberts, waiting for my honey to get home for us to eat dinner, but I digress … yum!

    Reading your post, I found myself nodding in agreement: horseradish …uh huh … sour cream … yes, please … butter … abso-posi-lutely! … but cream cheese? I never thought of that … good one! Makes me want to hop a flight over to your house for a bowl of smashed =) Fabulous.

    Hmm, you know what your post got me to thinking would be also really awesome to mash? Parsnips. Ooh, the ideas are flowing, lol.

    Wonderful post and recipe, Rebekah, can’t wait for Monday’s …

    =)

    1. Thank you Christina! I would love to have you over for a giant bowl of these mashed…for the occasion I would use extra butter and salt, ‘cuz I know you like the salt, me too girl. I eat it from the bottom of pretzel bags. Interesting enough, I also have naturally low blood pressure, wild!
      Parsnips, great idea! Love it.
      Talk soon!

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

