baking · Food and Libations · Holidays · Recipes · sweets

What Would Debbie Harry Eat?: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies

Well folks, it happened again. I baked. I know what you’re thinking. What’s happening to you?? You are a savory person. You hate flour all over your kitchen. All of these things are true. BUT, the reality is, the other night I just had to have some chocolate ooey-gooey-ness. You know what I mean here ladies, right?

Sad to say, before I made this delicious treat, this lovely portrayal by Xena, the warrior princess, was pretttty close to my actual state of being. So much so that I almost ate the batter when it was in the mixing bowl…

And once again when they were transferred to the pan…

Thankfully, they eventually made it to the oven. I can’t promise you that I did not finish off the rest of the bag of mini chocolate chips while I waited for them to bake and cool though. Mainly because that would be a straight up lie. I ate them. I ate them all.  And when these blondies emerged from the oven, they were just marvelous. The best way to describe them is a rich, decadent, chocolatey, peanut-buttery, extreme version of a  chocolate chip cookie…in a square.

Ingredients

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup margarine (or butter), softened

2/3 cup white sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chocolate chips (semi-sweet or milk chocolate)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C ). Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, cream together peanut butter and margarine. Gradually blend in the brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, and vanilla; mix until fluffy. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the peanut butter mixture until well blended.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in preheated oven, or until the top springs back when touched. Cool, and cut into 16 squares. Recipe from From Kitchen Simplicity via Two Tiny Kitchens

I promise these were super easy to make. Trust me, if I can bake these-you definitely can.

Right about now you might be asking yourself, Hey, what’s with the title of this blog post? And What does Debbie Harry have to do with these baked goods?  Well, since these are called blondies, I thought I would use this opportunity to give a shout out to one of my favorite blondies of all time…Miss Debbie Harry. Here’s lookin’ at you kid.

I hope you enjoyed this tribute to chocolate, PMS, and Debbie Harry. I dare  you to find a more random sentence than that along your travels this week. See you all on Monday for Coffee Break…What will I be highlighting….Hmmmmm…(That’s actually me thinking, because I haven’t decided yet :P)

xoxo,

6 thoughts on “What Would Debbie Harry Eat?: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies

  1. Hmm, great question, what would Debbie Harry eat? Definitely these blondies! Yum, yum, double yum! Being a Savory Gal myself, I must confess there’s something awesome about nibbling away at raw cookie dough — yes, please! And honestly, how can you ever go wrong with chocolate + peanut butter? Wait, I just think you added “the savory”, Rebekah! Peanut butter definitely is! Who says sweets can’t also be savory too? You just did =) Great post and tribute as always, foodie friend! Have a lovely weekend and see you on Monday =)

    1. Thanks Christina! You know for some reason I didn’t think of peanut butter as savory, but I guess it really is a little salty and a little sweet…probably why I could just eat a whole jar of it solo Hope you’re having a great weekend, looking forward to your post on wednesday 🙂

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

