Monday Coffee Break

Monday Coffee Break: Best Hostess Gifts for the Holidays

monday coffee break salty table

Hi there! I’d like to start out by welcoming you, and myself, back to Monday Coffee Break after my little hiatus there (read: house hunting, teething toddler -with- a -cold happy fun time).

Feeling renewed after my little break, I have something super fun and useful for you this week, to the tune of super awesome ideas for hostess gifts. Now, I love getting and giving a bottle of wine as much as the next person, but who says you can’t add a little something-something with that bottle of wine?

It doesn’t take much, but that little something extra goes a long way to personalize your Thank you for having us (read: thank you for planning this party, slaving over a stove, and breaking your back so that I can sit over here, relax, and drink of your fine booze selection).

That being said, let’s look at some of these hostess gift finds!

First up are these absolutely adorable chalkboard spice jars from Anthropologie. So perfect for, well, really anyone who has spices. The added benefit of these is that you can switch up your spices without having to get new jars…plus they are just too adorable. Santa, momma likes these.

Chalkboard Spice Jars from Anthropologie
Chalkboard Spice Jars from Anthropologie

This next gift is from Anthropologie as well, and comes in the form of these absolutely cool Pop art measuring spoons. I love these! So much so, that they might even make me want to start measuring! (Don’t worry guys, when I test my recipes before I post I always measure. During the initial creative process is where I use the pinch-and-dash method!) I’m pretty sure any hostess would love these as a gift.

Pop Art Measuring Spoons from Anthropologie
Pop Art Measuring Spoons from Anthropologie

Phew. I almost didn’t make it out of Anthropologie. It’s a scary downward spiral for my wallet over there. Up next, is this chalkboard cheese serving board from William Sonoma. This little number is a bit pricey for the average hostess gift, but if you’re looking to up the ante, or if you want to give this as a straight up gift to a special foodie in your life, I’m, sure no one would complain. I think its ingenoius for serving cheese at a party. Never mix up your cheddar and your smoked gouda again!

Salte cheese serving board from William Sonoma
Salte cheese serving board from William Sonoma

I’m really excited about this one. Why? well, because it’s…salt! To be more specific, it’s a Salts of the World Sampler from Uncommon Goods. How cool would it be to get this as a gift? It’s a great way to sample the salts that are out there, find different uses for each , and maybe even pick a new favorite for special dishes (don’t worry kosher, you’re still my number one player.)

Salts of the World Selection from Uncommon Goods
Salts of the World Selection from Uncommon Goods

Next, I found these adorable Initial Cork Coasters from In My Own Style. These are great for the DIY-ers out there and would really add a personal touch as a hostess gift. They also lend themselves to to an adorable variety of cute wrapping ideas. So cute!

Initial Cork Coasters from In My Own Style
Initial Cork Coasters from In My Own Style

This next gift is for your funny friend. I don’t mean funny like the one who stands you up for lunch or never returns phone calls, I mean the actual ha-ha funny friend. How great is this Hair of the Dog Gift Basket from Young Married Chic? I think this is an absolutely hilarious and useful gift for the party host or hostess.

Hair of the Dog Basket from Young Married Chic
Hair of the Dog Basket from Young Married Chic

This next gift is fairly specific to a certain type of hostess. The type that really enjoys tequila. While this is definaltely not for everyone, I just had to mention these Himalayan Salt Tequila Glasses from Uncommon Goods.These glasses are actually made from Himalayan pink salt! They are naturally anti-bacterial, can be washed and re-used and add that perfect hit of salt to a nice tequila. Awesome.

Himalayan Salt Tequila Glasses from Uncommon Goods
Himalayan Salt Tequila Glasses from Uncommon Goods

Well folks, that wraps up this weeks post. I hope you are all managing to enjoy the holidays and that these gift ideas will help you have one less thing to think about during the holiday rush. And remember, with hostess gifts, it really is the thought that counts. I’d like to leave you with a link to a post that really sums up the do’s and don’t of hostess gifts from Art of Manliness. Because it’s true what they say, a gentleman, or gentlewoman, never arrives empty handed.

Image from Fifties Wedding
Image from Fifties Wedding

Don’t forget to stop by on Thursday and check out this weeks recipe… I feel like it’s been forever since my last recipe post! xo,

signature for like this try that posts

3 thoughts on “Monday Coffee Break: Best Hostess Gifts for the Holidays

  1. Hi Rebekah,

    What an awesome, timely post and such unique, great ideas! What DON’T I want from this list? =)

    The chalkboard cheese board, how fun … and I really like the coasters too. Coasters can be kind of funny — instead of being these things you can feel confident you can place your bevies on, it seems like so many of them are just accidents waiting to happen — I don’t need HELP spilling my contained liquids =) And oooh, salts of the world … girl, you know how delightful! =)

    Hope all is well, Rebekah and all things holiday and house-related are going well =) I was keeping an eye out for your post this week and look forward to your one on Thursday, as always =)

    Big hug,

    Christina

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

