Food and Libations · Recipes · Uncategorized · vegetarian

Roasted Butternut Squash and Portabella Pasta

Roasted Butternut Squash and Portabella Pasta

Happy Thursday everyone! I’m super excited for today’s post. One, I feel like I haven’t posted a recipe in a hot minute. Two, this creation is super delicious, so I’m really excited to share it with all of you.

Now, we all know of my love of pasta. Because it’s such a huge part of my repertoire, I’m always looking for different recipes and interesting ways to switch it up. I guess you could say I’m a bit of a pasta mad scientist.

-"Now if You blow into this end, Pasta comes out."-"Fascinating."
-“Now if You blow into this end, Pasta comes out.”
-“Fascinating.”

Just Kidding. That’s not really me. Actually, it’s Elizabeth Lee Hazen and Rachael Brown, the microbiologist and the chemist. And while they are not making pasta, I’m pretty sure they would love this recipe I’m about to share.

Ingredients

3 Cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed (1″)

8 0z Baby portabella mushrooms

Salt, pepper, olive oil for roasting

1 box mini or regular penne, cooked to al dente in salted water and drained

1 TBSP butter

1 TSP garlic

1 TSP Fresh, chopped tarragon

1/4 Cup Chicken stock

1/4 Cup heavy cream

1/4 Cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, divided

Chopped Fresh parsley and additional parmesan for serving

Now, Let’s Make it!

Pre heat oven to 400
Place squash on a sheet pan in a single layer. Drizzle with 2 tbsp olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 20 minutes. Remove pan, add mushrooms, toss, spread evenly on pan. Continue roasting for 15-20 minutes until squash is fork tender.
Heat pan to medium/high, add 1 Tbsp butter. Add vegetables, 1tsp minced garlic, and tarragon. Sauté for 1-2 minutes. Add in chicken broth, stir, sauté for 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low (or just remove your pan from the burner to finish). Add cream and half of the parm cheese, stir. Taste, adjust with salt and pepper.
Add cooked pasta to sauce. top with remaining parmesan, toss. Allow pasta and sauce to come together for a minute.

Plate and serve with fresh parsley and additional grated parmesan.

Roasted Butternut Squash and Portabella Pasta

This pasta was a hit with the whole family. It has a great smoky flavor from the roasted veggies, a bite from the parmesan, and a freshness and depth from the herbs. And… because I stopped myself with only 1/4 cup of cream, dare I say, it’s  actually pretty good for you!

signature for like this try that posts

P.S. The Salty Table’s next post will be Thursday, January 3. Happy holidays, and happy cooking everyone!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash and Portabella Pasta

  1. So yummy, Rebekah! There’s something so great about roasted butternut squash, and when paired with pasta and Parmesan? Delicious. Thanks for sharing this wonderful concoction of yours and if all mad scientists created things like this, we’d all be very lucky indeed 😉

    (and that photo and caption made me LAUGH … thanks, Rebekah)!

    Here’s to an awesome New Year with even more delectable recipes, and wonderful foodie friends!

    Big hugs and warmest wishes,

    Christina =)

  2. Yum – I didn’t have Butternut squash but did have Acorn squash in the refrigerator so used that instead. This was a wonderful change for a pasta recipe for me – was very good. Happy New Year and love your blog!

    1. Hi Claire! Thank you!
      I’m so glad you liked this pasta recipe (and my blog :)). I think this one has definitely made it into our meal rotation around here. I especially love when I can find the already peeled and cubed butternut squash at the store-awesome time saver.
      Thanks for stopping by,
      Rebekah 🙂

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

