Gluten-Free

Fettuccine with Braised kale

kale pasta-pot

Hello all! This week’s recipe was inspired by three things: One, a big bunch of kale in my refrigerator. Two,a recipe I found in Bon Appetit magazine. Three, an episode of Portlandia where a man gives up pasta to lose weight and then becomes a shameful, slobbering, cracked out mess.

Now, I am not one to post video to my blog…actually I have never done it before, but this warrants it. I present what would happen to me if anyone ever took my pasta away:

**UPDATE: this happened folks, they took my pasta away. Since going Gluten-free I have been on a mission to find a suitable pasta replacement. Now, I am trying to perfect my own because the store bought (good) GF pasta is mad expensive, but in the meantime, I have found Jovial brand pastas to be very close to the real deal. I use their fettuccine style egg noodles in this recipe and its wonderful.

Yeah. Anywhooo, I found this recipe the other night when I was digging around on the internet for something interesting to do with kale because I had a few big bunches of it in my refrigerator. In the meantime, I happened to watch the above episode titled, “Pasta Addict”. Needless to say, these two events combined to make me absolutely have to have a pasta dish that incorporated kale.

Fettuccine with Braised kale

Inspired by Bon Appetit Magazine

Ingredients

  • 1 pound l kale (about 2 bunches), large center ribs and stems removed, cut crosswise into 1/2-inch slices
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 8 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced (or the equivalent in minced garlic)
  • **1/2 pound GF fettuccine (Gluten-free Jovial is what I use)
  • Zest & Juice of a whole lemon
  • 1/4C white wine (optional)
  • Finely grated Parmesan cheese

Preparation

  • Rinse kale. Drain; transfer to bowl with some water still clinging.
  • Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in heavy large pot over medium heat. Add chopped onion and cook until soft and translucent, stirring occasionally, about 6 minutes. Add sliced garlic and sprinkle with salt; cook until onion is golden brown, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Add kale and remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil and toss until wilted, about 3 minutes. Cover pot and reduce heat to medium-low. Continue cooking until kale is very tender, stirring occasionally and adding water by teaspoonfuls if dry, about 20 minutes. (I added wine here instead of water for a bit more flavor)
  • Meanwhile, cook fettuccine in medium pot of boiling salted water until al dente, stirring occasionally. Drain, reserving 1/4 cup cooking liquid. Add cooked pasta to kale mixture in pot. Add lemon juice and zest along with 2 tablespoons reserved cooking liquid; toss to combine, adding more liquid by tablespoonfuls if dry. Sprinkle fettuccine with grated Parmesan cheese, toss and serve.

kale pasta
This pasta dish was really delish, and it goes along with my New Year efforts to lighten things up around here. It really satisfied my addictive need for pasta, but I didn’t feel all weighed down after I ate it. So the next time you have some kale, and want some pasta, give this a shot, you won’t be sorry.

Until Next time, Viva le Starch!

signature for like this try that posts

P.S. See you on Monday for Coffee Break!

monday coffee break salty table

8 thoughts on “Fettuccine with Braised kale

  1. So……….that looks DELICIOUS. I had a really bad experience with kale before Thanksgiving (I ate it, among other things, for dinner, then spent the plane ride the next day throwing up), but I feel like I should give it a shot again…also, funny. I was trying to decide what magazine subscription to order and I googled Bon Appetit reviews and everyone was all, “recipes are too involved/use exotic ingredients/I would never make them” but look at you! Gourmet chef! Gives me hope 🙂 There was this amazing caramelized fennel and pomegranate salad that I really want to try!!

    1. Thanks Erika! That kale expereince sounds awful. I hate when certain fooods are ruined because of ‘incidents’ like illness, or who knows what else. maybe if this is prepped in a different way it won’t remind you of it as much?
      You know, Bon Appetit mag does have some recipes that have obscure ingredients and sometimes some seemingly ridiculous extra-step prep, but overall I find it to be verry attractive and I get good inspiration from it. If something looks insane, I just sub a different ingredient, and sometimes shorten some prep (cue French chefs rolling in graves). My fave food mag that I get though is Food and Wine. Love it.
      Also that salad sounds so good! 🙂

      1. Thanks Rebekah! That’s really helpful for the next time I order a magazine…I ended up going with Cook’s Illustrated because I’ve heard so many good things about it and I could definitely use some pointers on my cooking technique! Har.

        1. ooh cooks illustrated! I always forget about that one. Love that one as well. I have to stop with the mag subscriptions though, I could paper my walls with all of my food magazines!

  2. Yum, Rebekah! Not even a fan of kale, but this looks delicious. And how could anyone give up pasta? Why? would perhaps be the better question. Well never, I say, never! =)

    Thanks for sharing, Rebekah, and MY personal food magazine favorite these days Is Saveur — ooh, how I love their annual 100s!

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

