Gluten-Free · Real Food Project · salads · Side Dishes

Roasted Radish & Potato Salad {and We’re Back!}

radish-salad

After a brief hiatus from posting on The Salty Table, I’m back! While I’ve been away I’ve been writing recipes for my food column at UsaHerald, and I’ve also started a new project (That will be a book in 2015!) Salinger’s Salad, where I take a look at food in literature and offer up a few imaginative lit and food pairings of my own.I’d love for you to follow along with me on these endeavors!

In the meantime, I’ve decided to come home to The Salty Table, my original food blog, to share a bunch of my new recipes and my new food journey of eliminating highly processed foods from my family’s kitchen. It feels good to be back.

First up to share is this roasted red potato and radish salad. This was my first go with roasting radishes. I’ve always loved radishes raw, thinly sliced in salads and slaws or atop a sandwhich, but now I’m really a believer in the roasted version. The roasted radishes really give this potato salad a unique, earthy flavor. And the herb vinaigrette livens up  the warmth and crispy-tenderness the vegetables take on after roasting. Yummers.

This dish is great for any time of year and is perfect for parties, picnics, or BBQs because it can be served at room temperature. Try mixing up the herbs to create a different flavor profile.

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

Serving Size: 4 side dishes

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. radishes, trimmed and quartered
  • 1 lb new potatoes, quartered
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • kosher salt, fresh black pepper
  • Vinaigrette:
  • 1/4 cup white wine (or red wine) vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh dill (I have also used tarragon, delish)
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425o F with a large baking sheet inside.
  2. Toss radishes, potatoes, 2 Tablespoons olive oil, salt and pepper ion a large baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Roast until golden, 20-25 minutes, stirring halfway through roasting.
  3. For the vinaigrette whisk together vinegar, 3 Tablespoons oil, Dijon, parsley and dill in a bowl until combined; season with salt and pepper. Add roasted potatoes and radishes to bowl while warm so they really absorb the flavor. Toss and serve warm or room temperature.

This recipe was originally posted by me in my Food column @UsaHerald.

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

