Gluten-Free · Kids and family

Easiest Turkey Meatballs 3 Ways

Let me preface this post by saying these are turkey meatballs. Yes, yes, I know, sacrilege. I can practically hear my grandmother rolling in her grave. Let me also say, I have fooled my husband, a decidedly red meat meatball man, with these meatballs on every occasion they were made.

There are three ways to serve these, and only a tiny variation in the prep. First, there is what I like to call meatloaf meatballs, see photo. Next, up-bbq meatballs. Last, but definitely not least, is your classic meatballs and gravy (i.e., red sauce) preparation.

My kids devour these, and my husband was, until i revealed my dirty little turkey secret yesterday, convinced these were regular ‘ol beef meatballs, and they are super simple to throw together. Win win, and win again.

There is just so much winning.

Ok. Now to make these fellas. You will need:

1.5 lbs of ground turkey

1/2 Organic ketchup or bbq sauce (use ketchup for meatloaf balls and “classic” meatballs and gravy, and bbq sauce for  bbq meatballs) plus more for drizzling.

about 1/2 cup of crushed gluten-free crackers (about 10 crackers, crushed inside of a ziplock bag. Great for working out midday frustrations.)

1 tbsp dried Italian seasoning

*recipe note: I don’t add any more salt in these because of the crackers and the ketchup.

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
*Mix lean ground turkey, breadcrumbs, and 1/2 cup barbecue sauce OR ketchup.
*Form into balls with a medium cookie scoop and place on a lined baking sheet. Round out the meatballs with your hands.
*Bake for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, brush meatballs with the remaining barbecue sauce or ketchup.
*Bake for 10 more minutes.

**If you are making the traditional meatballs and gravy, skip the sauce drizzling step and just simply bake these straight through for 30 minutes, then add to your pot of sauce.

I like to serve the meatloaf version over rice. The BBQ version are great as an appetizer and of course, the meatballs and gravy in red sauce with some delicious pasta.

I hope you like these as much as I do, enjoy!

P.s. Here is the BBQ sauce I make-only 3 ingredients!

…and here is my gravy (note, this is my grandmother’s gravy and the meatballs I use in this recipe are the real meat, italian style meatballs (IE, meatballs I used to have time to make before I had two children also these meatballs are NOT gluten-free). But this sauce works with these turkey numbers, too!)

 

Share your Thoughts, Ideas, Questions...

